Making Weighted Blankets for Survivors of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder

Today I finished up one of eight weighted blankets that are for the girls at the safe-house to use as part of their therapy.

These blankets provide deep pressure, which promotes relaxation and improvement in serotonin levels.  Once the blankets are complete, the Freedom Place girls can choose a blanket to help them calm and self-soothe.  The blankets can also be used to promote deeper sleep and to cope with nightmares.

DSC_0020

My first blanket weighs about 12 pounds, is made from 2 pieces of 40″x50″ fleece and filled with poly pellets. Each of the initial 8 blankets will range in weight up to 20 pounds maximum.

Steps to Make a Weighted Blanket:

First, I laid the fleece right sides together and sewed around 3 of the four sides.  Then I flipped the blanket right side out and edge stitched around the 3 sewn edges.

Next, I drew a grid on the back of the blanket:

Along the 50″ edge:  12 long columns with each column being 4″ wide.  Along the 40″ edge: 9 columns with each column being 4″ wide.

Once the grid was drawn, I used a 3mm stitch length to stitch along the twelve columns and began to fill the blanket with poly pellets.  I poured about 1/4 cup of pellets into each column, pinned, and stitched closed before adding the next round of pellets.  Here are some close-ups of the pellets and my stitched grid:

DSC_0029DSC_0021

As you can imagine, this blanket gets pretty heavy when sewing, so I am very thankful that I have my trusty Janome 6600 and tables set up to provide a flat sewing surface!  I also used the dual feed system or walking foot to prevent my fabric layers from shifting during stitching.

DSC_0025

Once all the pellets were in, I stitched the top edge closed, added a decorative stitch and used my pinking shears to give it a nice finish:

DSC_0023

Whew!  One down – eight to go!

Thanks for reading!

Jenny G

3 thoughts on “Making Weighted Blankets for Survivors of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder

  1. Thank you so much for this tutorial! I have a son with sensory integration disorder who I would love to try this with. My sister also has a baby with sensory issues and sleeping problems. She was just saying how she wished she had one of these blankets.
    Again, thanks for sharing!

  2. Hi my name is James I have a daughter who was born on August 5 and she was diagnosed with no corpus callosum in her brain persistent pulmonary hypertension and scymitar syndrome she went through heart surgery last Thursday and I have been trying to find a blanket like this on to buy her for when she comes home could you tell me where I can

Leave a Reply

